Introvert Energy Crisis

Quoting again from The Introvert Advantage by Marti Olsen Laney, PsD., this time her sidebar in the Chapter on Personal Pacing. This is a list of symptoms indicating the Introvert has overloaded, drained away all her energy and is in sore need of rest and solitude to re-invigorate:

Anxious
Agitated
Irritable
Trouble sleeping
Unable to think (recall things)
Unable to concentrate
Unable to make decisions
Confused and Discombobulated (as if dashing from thing to thing in a blur)
Drained, tired, put upon, pooped
Disconnected from self

In recent weeks I’ve suffered from all of this. At the same time. I have introverted and semi-introverted friends who have as well. You begin to wonder what is wrong with you. Am I going crazy? Now, though, when I see this array of symptoms appearing in my life I know it’s time to hold the line and retreat to the Fortress of Solitude for a time and just rest.

Amazing what just a little bit of that does.

2 Responses to “Introvert Energy Crisis”


  1. 1 KC Frantzen September 24, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Not to mention spiritual warfare… 🙂

  2. 2 Donna Hagan September 24, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Gosh I thought these symptoms were because I’m approaching 50 and we have a teenager in the house – lol. Thanks for sharing that it’s okay to take a break every once in awhile. My husband is enjoying your book Arena (3/4 of the way through) very much and then I will take a break and read it. Hope you get a refreshing burst after your rest!


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Online Church

Visit my Old Blog Here:

Music I’m Writing To

Transformers (Revenge of the Fallen) Soundtrack - Steve Jablonsky


